I'm not in trial mode, why am I still seeing a watermark?


If you're seeing a watermark but have registered your product (or are within the timed trial period), check that:

  • The Red Giant Application Manager is up-to-date
    Download the latest Red Giant Application Manager version here. This program handles the licensing of all of our current products, so if it isn't able to relay your licensing information properly (e.g. it says Service Unavailable), this heavily implies it needs to be updated.
    Once it's updated, check your plugins in a brand new project to see if the watermark persists. If there is no watermark on your new project, but it is still present on one you had been working with, it implies the watermark is in the render cache, in which case you'll want to review the third bullet point of this FAQ.
  • You're signed in with the right Maxon or Red Giant account
    The Application Manager requires you to be signed in with a Maxon account if you had purchased your product from maxon.net, or Red Giant if you had purchased from redgiant.com.
    • If you are already signed in with your Maxon account, you can also sign in with a Red Giant account by selecting Add Legacy Red Giant account at the bottom of the menu.
    • If you are already signed in with a Red Giant account and need to sign in with a Maxon account, sign out first, then re-sign in using the Maxon option.
  • You have the right version installed
    This is only applicable to purchases made directly through redgiant.com (instead of maxon.net). Sometimes the wrong product version is erroneously installed when a different version should've been installed instead. To remedy this, uninstall whatever version you've got installed, and use the installers located in your account to install the proper versions.
  • You're not using the same license on two machines at the same time.
    Our EULA allows for two activations per license, but you cannot run the same license between two machines at a time.
    Close out of your plugins on one machine entirely before launching them on another.

  • You're not looking at cached frames.
    If your product had ever been used before it was registered, or had been kicked into trial mode, you'll likely need to clean out your render cache.
    To do this in...:
    • ...Final Cut Pro X: Head into File > Delete Generated Event Files
    • ...Premiere: Head into Sequence > Delete Render Files
    • ...After Effects: Head into Edit > Purge > All Memory & Disk Cache

If both have been accounted for, contact support.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments